top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichael Collins

New old goals

Back when I started this whole writing thing, I planned on writing every day. Back then, I called them stories or short stories, but really (now that I know), they were micro-fiction. I planned on writing and posting a new story every day on my site. Little by little, I became more comfortable with writing. After a while, I was ready to write my first longer story (I still have trouble calling them novels). The more I wrote, the more people came to my site or so I thought. I found out the metrics used by Weebly was giving me false reports. My 80 to 100+ views were closer to 3 to 0 actual views. I gave up and closed my site, opening a site for blogs. Then I hit a deer and lost my job. I was trapped at home, waiting for money.

With time, I decided to publish my past stories and see if I can make money on them. I found out the old saying was right, “you have to spend money to make money.” I had no money just 8 stories and n way to tell people they exist. Amazon suggested a blog, so I reopened my blog as well as my small site under the Lakemoron.com name.


I joined a writing group with The Tale Foundry and using the weekly prompts, I started to feel better about my crap. I also saw just how dark my recent work was. With my last two stories, I decided to try and lighten up my storytelling. This leads to my new goal.

My plan is to do the weekly prompts while either writing a micro-fiction story or work on one of my stories in progress. At least 1000 words a day. I want to work on my funny, horror, action (fighting), and basic story functions. I’ll post my new micro-fictions here and, on my site, while trying to blog every day. I will also stop looking at the numbers. Back when I first started, I was able to write 1000 word stories in an hour and have it ready to post by hour two (back when I didn’t care how little editing I was going).


Plan

· Write a progress report every day on the blog

· Work on long stories

· Write either flash or micro-fiction on those days I don’t work on longer stories

· 1000+ words a day

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Coming to terms with my lazyness

Well, I guess all good plans run into snags. My trouble is my snag is me. I had this plan to write a new story every day and publish it on this site. That was the plan, but if you are looking for thos

Day one of the new plan

I got nothing done. I started out looking around online for a good place for writing prompts. I asked the Tale Foundry discord, and they had some excellent suggestions, but the more I looked, the less

The Open Door Closed

“There’s nothing outside the door, there are no ghosts,” Bethany said to herself as she watches the door to her bedroom. For as long as Bethany could remember, she was afraid to have her door open. Sh

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page